See Susan Perform:

  • Thursday 19th April 2018, 6.30pm – launch of ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’, The Poetry Bookshop, Hay-on-Wye
  • Friday 27th April 2018, 7pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ performance, British Animal Studies Network event, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow
  • Thursday 3rd May, 7.30pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ performance, in association with the Marine Conservation Society, Boda Bar, Leith Walk, Edinburgh
  • Friday 18th May 2018, 7 pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ performance, Noa Bakehouse, Isle of Man
  • Saturday 26th May 2018, 3.20pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Bristol Aquarium, part of ‘Ocean Matters’ weekend, focusing on marine plastics
  • Thursday 31st May 2018, 7.30pm – guest poet, Words & Ears, Bradford on Avon
  • Sunday 3rd June 2018, 8pm – guest poet, Buzzwords, Cheltenham
  • Wednesday 6th June, 2pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry walk, part of the Gower Walking Festival, meet at Bracelet Bay car park
  • Thursday 7th June, 1.30pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, part of Marine Transgressions conference, Create Centre, Bristol
  • Friday 29th June 2018, 7.30pm – guest poet, sharing poems from ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’, Cellar Bards, Cardigan
  • Sunday 1st July 2018, 1.30 pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance at the Festival of Firsts, West Kirby Arts Centre, the Wirral
  • Tuesday 3rd July 2018, 7.30pm – guest poet, The Poetry Lounge, Ludlow
  • Saturday 14th July 2018, 3pm – guest poet, Spoken Word Saturday, Ffwrnes Theatre, Llanelli
  • Sunday 29th July 2018, 3pm – guest poet, Mid Wales Arts Centre, Caersws
  • Friday 10th August 2018, 7.30pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Tywi Boat Club, Llansteffan
  • Friday 17th August 2018, 3pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Ocean Lab, Fishguard Bay, part of a Year of the Sea event
  • Monday 27th August 2018, 2pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ performance, part of ‘Under the Sea’ day, Oriel y Parc, St Davids, Pembrokeshire
  • Thursday 6th September 2018, 7pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Northumberland Wildlife Trust Visitor Centre, Druridge Bay, Northumberland
  • Sunday 9th September 2018, 2pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Visitor Centre, RSPB Saltholme, Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough
  • Wednesday 12th September 2018, 7pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Living Seas Centre, Flamborough Head, Yorkshire
  • Sunday 16th September, 3pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, plus exhibition of images by Pat Gregory, Waterloo Tea, Penylan, Cardiff
  • Friday 28th September, time tbc – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, the Alice Cross Centre, Teignmouth
  • Sunday 30th September 2018, 2pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Chesil Beach Centre, Dorset
  • Wednesday 3rd October 2018, 7.15pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Chichester Natural History Society
  • Fiday 19th October 2018, time and venue tbc – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Magor, Monmouthshire
  • Monday 3rd December 2018, 7pm – guest poet, Saltmarsh Poetry, Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk
  • Sunday 9th December 2018, 2pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Norfolk Wildlife Trust’s Cley Marshes Reserve
  • Tuesday 12th February 2019, 7pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, Wildlife Trust event, Swansea University
  • Wednesday 8th May 2019 – guest poet, Speakin’ Weird spoken word night, Aberdeen
  • Sunday 9th June 2019, 6.30 pm – ‘Words the Turtle Taught Me’ poetry performance, The Jolly Sailor, Canterbury


Susan Richardson

is a poet, performer and educator whose work celebrates and defends animals and wild places, reconnecting our imaginations to them and forging meaningful connections with the more-than-human world.

Susan was recently interviewed about her work by the Charter for Animal Compassion: you can read the interview here.

Facebooktwitter Newsletter

Latest News

  • Susan’s fourth collection of poetry, Words the Turtle Taught Me, has just been published by Cinnamon Press. Described by Philip Hoare as ‘vital, glorious, salutary’, the collection grew out of her recent residency with the Marine Conservation Society.
  • Throughout 2018, Susan will be performing work from Words the Turtle Taught Me on her Thirty Coastal Readings for Thirty Threatened Species tour at venues all round the coast of the UK.
  • In addition to her recent MCS residency, Susan is also currently poet-in-residence with both the global animal welfare initiative World Animal Day and the British Animal Studies Network.

Join a Workshop

Susan has a wide range of workshops on such themes as Writing the Wild and Animal Language coming up throughout the UK in 2018. Please contact Susan for further information and/or subscribe to her newsletter.

Mentoring & Writing Tuition – Susan works with many writers on a private basis via email, phone and/or Skype. If you’re interested in private tuition, mentoring or manuscript appraisal, please get in touch.